District Magistrate is the head of the District Administration. He is also the District Collector and also Executive Officer of Zilla Parishad. He is assisted by Addl. District Magistrate(General), Addl. District Magistrate(Development), Addl. Executive Officer, Addl. District Magistrate & D.L. & L.R.O , S.D.O(Sadar), S.D.O.(Manbazar), S.D.O.(Jhalda), S.D.O.(Raghunathpur), B.D.O.s of 20 Blocks and by other Officers.

There are four Sub-divisions under Purulia District namely:

Sl.No. Sub Division Name of the Sub Divisional Officer
01 Purulia Sadar Shri Bimalendu Das, WBCS (Exe)
02 Raghunathpur Tamil Oviya S, IAS
03 Manbazar Sri Anuj Prtap Singh, IAS
04 Jhalda Shri Ritam Jha, WBCS (Exe)